FAQ — Before you ask...


How do I import my own background picture?
See here.

How do I access the pink-colored functions?
Tap the golden key twice. A pink bar above the yellow bar indicates that the tertiary functions are active. Keys without a tertiary function will execute the secondary function instead.

What exactly is "High-speed Calculations" (red "Speed" setting on RPN-45 SD)?
RPN-45 emulates the behavior of a real HP-45 by blanking the display shortly before showing the result of an operation. The delay depends on the operation and may be up to two seconds. Compared to the HP-45, calculations on your iOS device are faster by about five orders of magnitude.

How do I get the current date?
Enter 0 and execute DATE. Make sure there's no valid date in Y, which would result in that date. Probably the easiest way is to just tap the keys CLEAR DATE.

Oct 4, 1582 plus one day is not Oct 5, 1582
That's because RPN-45 returns Gregorian dates, if possible. In the Gregorian calendar, the day after the Julian date Oct 4, 1582 is Oct 15, 1582.

Newton died on March 20, 1727, which was a Monday. RPN-45 tells me it was a Thursday.
Starting with Oct 15, 1582, dates are assumed to be based on the Gregorian calendar. However, the British empire used the Julian calendar up to Sep 14, 1752. Make sure you enter the date as a negative value in order to use the Julian calendar, and you get the correct answer (Monday).

I'd like to do a statistical calculation, but don't want to lose registers 5 through 8.
Save R5 thru R8 in their extended counterparts R15 thru R18 by executing STO  x↔y  n. For n use the values 5 thru 8. Or simply 0 if it's OK to swap all registers at the same time.

How does RPN-45 determine the faculty of non-integer and negative values?
RPN-45 makes use of the fact that Γ(x) = (x-1)! and actually evaluates the gamma function. Conversely, you may compute Γ(x) by taking the faculty of x-1.

Isn't -4! just -24? RPN-45 shows overflow and the "complex" indicator starts blinking.
Yes, if by -4! you mean -(4!). However, RPN-45 assumes you want to compute (-4)! which is defined as "complex infinity".

For eln(10)–10 I get the correct answer 0 on a real HP-45. RPN-45, however, returns 1.78E-15. Is the HP-45 more accurate?
Of course not. The HP-45 uses BCD numbers internally, thereby avoiding rounding errors on addition and subtraction, which are unavoidable when converting between the decimal and the binary system. Since computations are done on ten significant digits only, errors which crop up in later digits are never "seen" by the HP-45. RPN-45, however, correctly reports the rounding error starting at the 15th digit. You get the expected result by applying the RND (round) function.

Which functions may be performed on complex numbers?
In addition to the basic arithmetic operations: 1/x, yx, ln, log, ex, 10x, x2, √x, sin, sin-1, sinh, sinh-1, cos, cos-1, cosh, cosh-1, tan, tan-1, tanh, tanh-1, n!, %, Δ%, x↔y, R↓, STO, RCL, ENTER, CHS, CLX, CLEAR, LASTx, LinEq, INT, FRAC, RAN#. Also Re↔Im to swap the real and imaginary parts of the display value, as well as Conj to compute the conjugate value, and ClrIm to clear the imaginary part. Finally register arithmetic and STO Σ+ and RCL Σ+. Use Σ+ and Σ- to add and subtract the complex values in X and Y to and from registers R7 and R8, respectively. STO [op] Σ+ and RCL [op] Σ+ (where [op] is add, subtract, multiply or divide) will also work. The conversion factors cm/in, kg/lb, ltr/gal and π are handled as complex numbers with imaginary part zero.

How do I store a complex number, say 4+5i in register 1? Can I see it?
4  ENTER  5  I  STO 1. You can see the stored value in the register popup (on RPN-45 HD a single tap on the popup lets you switch between real and imaginary registers. Or simply tap the stack display.) You may also use Re↔Im to swap the real and imaginary parts of the display value.

How do I change the sign of the real part only?
CHS  Conj

How do I clear the real part only?
Re↔Im  ClrIm  Re↔Im

And how do I enter a complex number in midst of a complex calculation?
Just enter your calculations as you would do with real numbers. The only difference ist that you enter an imaginary number by pressing real part ENTER imaginary part, followed by the key I. A purely real number may just be typed in as usual. The same with a purely imaginary number, but finish the entry by pressing Re↔Im. See example 10 on the page "Examples" for a step-by-step evaluation.

How do I use the random number generator RAN#?
The range of random numbers generated is determined by the contents of stack registers Y and Z. If both are zero, you'll get random numbers between 0 (inclusive) and 1 (exclusive). If y and z are both non-consecutive integers, you'll get random numbers in the range y through z, boundaries included. Otherwise, non-integer random numbers in the specified range will be produced. Note that boundaries may be entered in any order.
Example: Setting y = 1962 and z = 2012 will cause RAN# to generate arbitrary years from 1962 to 2012.

The calculation arcsin(arccos(arctan(tan(cos(sin(9)))))) shown on the RPN-45's info pages results in 9. For a complex argument 9+0i I get quite a different value.
The complex calculation yields -9+3π = 0.4248.

How do I multiply the displayed value with the content of an extended register like R17?
RCL x EEX 7. Or RCL EEX x 7. In place of EEX you may also use the decimal point, the way many HP calculators work.

Tell me about the storing of lap times in the stopwatch mode.
As soon as you enter the timer mode, all previous lap times are cleared. To store a lap time, while the timer is running, tap any digit key to store the time in the register defined by the key. Note that the key 0 works too, but time register 0 will be automatically overwritten with the time the timer was stopped. While the timer is stopped, retrieve lap times by simply tapping the digit of the desired lap time register.
Stored lap times are available in calculator mode as normal numbers. Registers which remained unused in timer mode will show their previous values.

The very first value I'm trying to enter with Σ+ causes an error situation.
Register R5 counts your entries. Unlike the HP-45, if the value is neither 0 nor a natural number, RPN-45 reports an error. Before entering values, always make sure to use CLEAR in order to clear the registers R5...R8.

Please explain the function "Prob".
Imagine the well-known Gaussian bell curve. RPN-45 uses the normalized curve, meaning the area between the curve and the x-axis is exactly 1. If x = 0, you get the value of the top of the curve (0.3989). Stack register Y receives the area below the curve, taken from x all the way to negative infinity. Since the curve is symmetrical, if x = 0 the area is exactly half of the entire area (0.5).

Anything with the HP-45 that RPN-45 doesn't simulate?
Sure. Calculation errors, for example. They're difficult to simulate. And not really desired either.
On the HP-45, entering something like 0.1 EEX CHS 99 will be immediately turned into 0, as soon as you enter the second 9. RPN-45, on the other hand, accepts such numbers as part of a calculation (finding the square root, for instance).
Bugs of the HP-45 have been avoided (hopefully). Interestingly, the HP-45 accepts negative zero. Computing the square root even produces an error. Entering STO + CHS, then any digit, results in an illegal display mode. In the same fashion, stored lap times look strange if you leave the timer mode via the ENTER key.
If the battery is almost down, RPN-45 will not light all decimal points to warn you that only 2 to 5 minutes of operating time are left. It's also not very useful to display only a decimal point in order to save battery power. Last but not least, you can't remove the battery.

Is this a real HP-45 showing in RPN-45?
Yes, it is. What you see is the photograph of an existing (and still working) HP-45. Dusted off and wiped clean with some help of Photoshop. The serial number is 1301S 12339, the purchase date was June 12, 1973.
In the iPad's landscape mode, what you see is a life-size HP-45. On the smaller iOS devices, in order to save space, the calculator's on/off switch isn't shown. iPhone/iPod touch show the HP-45 about 23% squished (9% on iPhone 5 and iPod touch 5th gen.)

 

 


Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.

FAQ — Fragen. Und Antworten.


Wie lade ich mein eigenes Hintergrundbild?
Hier steht's.

Wie rufe ich die rosa gefärbten Funktionen auf?
Tippen Sie zweimal auf die Goldtaste. Über der Taste erscheint ein zusätzlicher Indikator, welcher anzeigt, dass Drittfunktionen aktiv sind. Bei Tasten ohne Drittfunktion wird weiterhin die Zweitfunktion ausgeführt.

Was genau bewirkt die Einstellung "Schnelle Berechnungen" (rote "Speed"-Einstellung auf dem RPN-45 SD)?
Um das Gefühl eines echten HP-45 zu vermitteln, simuliert RPN-45 dessen Geschwindigkeit, indem die Resultatausgabe verzögert wird. Die längste Rechenzeit beträgt etwa zwei Sekunden. Ihr iOS-Gerät rechnet um mindestens fünf Grössenordnungen schneller als der HP-45.

Wie erhalte ich das aktuelle Datum?
Geben Sie 0 ein und führen Sie die Funktion DATE aus. Wichtig ist, dass Y kein gültiges Datum enthält, sonst erhalten Sie dieses Datum. Am einfachsten ist wohl die Tastenfolge CLEAR DATE. Oder CLX ENTER DATE

Der Tag nach dem 4. Oktober 1582 ist nicht der 5. Oktober.
Der Grund ist, dass RPN-45 wenn immer möglich ein gregorianisches Datum liefert. Im gregorianischen Kalender folgt nach dem 4.10.1582 tatsächlich der 15. Oktober.

Newton starb am 20.3.1727, einem Montag. RPN-45 zeigt aber Donnerstag an.
Resultate ab dem 15.10.1582 beziehen sich auf den gregorianischen Kalender. In England galt aber bis zum 14.9.1752 der julianische Kalender. Das Datum muss daher als negativer Wert eingegeben werden. Man erhält so den korrekten Wochentag Montag.

Ich möchte eine Statistikberechnung durchführen, aber die Register 5 bis 8 nicht verlieren.
Sichern Sie R5 bis R8 in den erweiterten Registern R15 bis R18, indem Sie STO  x↔y  n ausführen. Für n setzen Sie 5 bis 8 ein. Oder einfach 0, wenn Sie gleich alle Register vertauschen wollen.

Wie gelangt RPN-45 zu den Fakultäten von nichtganzzahligen und negativen Werten?
RPN-45 benutzt die Beziehung Γ(x) = (x-1)! und berechnet die Gammafunktion. Umgekehrt können Sie Gamma(x) berechnen, indem Sie die Fakultät von x-1 bestimmen.

Ist -4! nicht einfach -24? RPN-45 zeigt einen Überlauf und "complex" blinkt.
-4! ist in der Tat -24, aber RPN-45 versucht (-4)! zu berechnen. Das Resultat ist "komplex Unendlich".

Für eln(10)–10 liefert der HP-45 den korrekten Wert 0, RPN-45 hingegen 1.78E-15. Rechnet der HP-45 genauer?
Nein, tut er nicht. Ganz im Gegenteil. Der HP-45 rechnet mit BCD-Zahlen, was bei Addition und Subtraktion im Gegensatz zum Binärsystem Rundungsfehler vermeidet. Da er zudem nur mit 10 signifikanten Stellen arbeitet, "sieht" er Rundungsfehler ab der elften Stelle gar nicht.
Im vorliegenden Beispiel zeigt RPN-45 hingegen korrekterweise die Abweichung in der 15. Nachkommastelle. Sie erhalten das erwartete Resultat durch Ausführen der Funktion RND (Runden).

Welche Funktionen können komplex ausgeführt werden?
Neben den arithmetischen Grundoperationen 1/x, yx, ln, log, ex, 10x, x2, √x, sin, sin-1, sinh, sinh-1, cosh, cosh-1, cos, cos-1, tan, tan-1, tanh, tanh-1, n!, %, Δ%, x↔y, R↓, STO, RCL, ENTER, CHS, CLX, CLEAR, LASTx, LinEq, INT, FRAC, RAN#. Ausserdem Re↔Im zum Vertauschen von Real- und Imaginärteil, Conj zur Bestimmung des konjugierten Werts und ClrIm zum Löschen des Imaginärteils. Schliesslich noch die Registerarithmetik sowie STO Σ+ und RCL Σ+. Mit Σ+ und Σ- werden die komplexen Werte in X und Y zu den Registern R7 und R8 addiert bzw. subtrahiert. Ebenso funktionieren STO [op] Σ+ und RCL [op] Σ+ (wobei [op] für Addition, Subtraktion, Multiplikation oder Division steht). Die Konstantwerte cm/in, kg/lb, ltr/gal und π werden als komplexe Zahlen mit Imaginärteil Null behandelt.

Wie speichere ich eine komplexe Zahl 4+5i ab, z.B. im Register 1? Und wie kann ich sie anschauen?
4  ENTER  5  I  STO 1. Im Register-Popup sehen Sie den gespeicherten Wert (RPN-45 HD: tippen Sie die Anzeige kurz an um zwischen Real- und Imaginärteil zu wechseln. Oder tippen Sie kurz auf die Stackanzeige). Alternativ können Sie die Anzeige mit Re↔Im umschalten.

Wie wechsle ich das Vorzeichen des Realteils?
CHS  Conj

Wie lösche ich den Realteil?
Re↔Im  ClrIm  Re↔Im

Und wie gebe ich in einer komplexen Berechnung einen Wert ein?
Rechnen Sie wie mit reellen Zahlen, mit dem Unterschied, dass Sie komplexe Zahlen in der Reihenfolge Realteil ENTER Imaginärteil, gefolgt von der Taste I eingeben. Eine rein reelle Zahl können Sie einfach eintippen und weiter rechnen. Eine rein imaginäre Zahl geben Sie ebenfalls direkt ein und drücken dann Re↔Im. Ab Version 1.5.0 können Sie auf diese Weise vier Werte auf dem Stack ablegen, ohne dass der älteste Wert verloren geht.
Das Beispiel 10 auf der Seite "Beispiele" zeigt einen vollständigen Berechnungsgang.

Wie verwende ich den Zufallszahlengenerator RAN#?
Die Stackregister Y und Z bestimmen den Bereich der Zufallszahlen. Sind beide Null, werden Zahlen zwischen 0 (inklusiv) und 1 (exklusiv) erzeugt. Sind y und z ganze Zahlen, die nicht direkt aufeinanderfolgen, werden ganze Zufallszahlen zwischen x (inklusiv) und y (inklusiv) generiert, andernfalls rationale Zufallszahlen. Die Bereichsgrenzen dürfen in beliebiger Reihenfolge erscheinen.
Beispiel: Mit y = 1962 und z = 2012 liefert RAN# zufällige Jahreszahlen im Bereich 1962 bis 2012.

Die in "RPN-45 Simulator Info" erwähnte Rechnung arcsin(arccos(arctan(tan(cos(sin(9)))))) ergibt 9. Für einen komplexen Wert 9+0i scheint dies nicht zu stimmen.
Die komplexe Berechnung hat das Resultat -9+3π = 0.4248.

Wie kann ich die Anzeige mit dem Inhalt eines erweiterten Register, z.B. R17, multiplizieren?
RCL x EEX 7. Oder auch RCL EEX x 7. Statt EEX können Sie auch den Dezimalpunkt verwenden, wie das bei einigen HP-Rechnern üblich ist.

Wie funktioniert die Speicherung von Stoppuhrzeiten?
Wenn Sie in den Stoppuhrbetrieb wechseln, werden alle Zeiten gelöscht. Das Speichern einer Zwischenzeit geschieht durch Drücken einer Zifferntaste während die Uhr läuft. Die Taste 0 funktioniert ebenfalls, der gespeicherte Wert wird jedoch überschrieben mit dem Zeitpunkt, in welchem die Uhr angehalten wird. Ist die Uhr gestoppt, können die Zwischenzeiten durch Drücken der entsprechenden Zifferntasten aufgerufen werden.
Nach der Rückkehr in den normalen Rechnerbetrieb stehen die gespeicherten Zeiten als einfache Zahlenwerte in den Registern zur Verfügung. Register, in denen keine Zeit abgelegt wurde, enthalten unverändert den ursprünglichen Wert.

Die Summierungsfunktion Σ+ meldet schon bei der ersten Eingabe einen Fehler.
Das Register R5, welches die Eingaben zählt, enthält weder Null noch eine natürliche Zahl. Sie sollten vor der ersten Eingabe immer CLEAR ausführen, um die beteiligten Register (R5 bis R8) zu löschen.

Wie muss ich die Funktion "Prob" verstehen?
Stellen Sie sich die bekannte Gauss'sche Glockenkurve vor. RPN-45 verwendet die normierte Kurve, was bedeutet, dass die Gesamtfläche zwischen x-Achse und Kurve den Wert 1 hat. Für 0 liefert Prob die Höhe der Kurve am höchsten Punkt (0.3989). Der Wert in Y ist die Fläche unter der Kurve von minus unendlich bis x, für 0 also 0.5, nämlich genau die Hälfte der Gesamtfläche.

Gibt es Dinge, die RPN-45 nicht simuliert?
Ja. Rechenfehler zum Beispiel. Sie sind sehr schwierig nachzubilden und ohnehin unerwünscht.
Eine Eingabe wie 0.1 EEX CHS 99 wird vom HP-45 bereits beim Eintippen der zweiten 9 in 0 konvertiert, während RPN-45 die Zahl als Teil einer Berechnung akzeptiert (beispielsweise kann die Wurzel daraus gezogen werden).
Auch Bugs des HP-45 wurden (hoffentlich) nicht übernommen. Beispielsweise akzeptiert der HP-45 die Eingabe einer negativen Null. Er meldet sogar einen Fehler, wenn man versucht, daraus die Wurzel zu ziehen. Des weiteren bringt die Tastenfolge STO + CHS, gefolgt von einer Zahleneingabe, die Anzeige ziemlich durcheinander. Etwas Ähnliches geschieht mit den gespeicherten Stoppuhrzeiten, wenn man die Stoppuhr über die ENTER-Taste verlässt.
Ist die Batterie fast leer, leuchten beim RPN-45 nicht sämtliche Kommastellen auf. Auch bringt es wenig, Strom sparen zu wollen, indem man nur ein Komma in der Anzeige stehen lässt. Und, last but not least, ist die Batterie nicht austauschbar.

Zeigt RPN-45 einen echten Rechner?
In der Tat. Das Bild beruht auf der Foto eines existierenden HP-45. Von Fusseln und Flecken einigermassen befreit (Photoshop sei Dank). Die Seriennummer ist 1301S 12339, das Kaufdatum war der 12. Juni 1973.
Im Querformat zeigt das iPad den HP-45 in Originalgrösse. Bei den kleinen iOS-Geräten wurde der EIn/Aus-Schalter aus Platzgründen weggelassen. Beim iPhone und iPod touch erscheint der Rechner um 23% gestaucht, beim iPhone 5 und iPod touch (5. Gen.) um 9%.

 

 


Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.